Skip to main content

Defra Group colleagues celebrated in the New Year’s Honours List

Posted by: , Posted on: - Categories: Uncategorized

Defra Group Permanent Secretary Tamara Finkelstein

Today (Saturday 28 December) Defra Group colleagues have been recognised in the New Year’s Honours List. The honours list celebrates the incredible achievements of people from all backgrounds across the United Kingdom.

This year’s list includes Defra Group Permanent Secretary Tamara Finkelstein, who has been appointed a Companion of the Order of Bath for her services to the public sector. During her career, Tamara has worked in a number of government departments on policy and delivery, including health and children’s services at the Department of Health and Social Care, and macroeconomic policy and debt management at HM Treasury. She is also a senior sponsor of the Civil Service Jewish Network.

On hearing of her honour, Defra Permanent Secretary Tamara Finkelstein said:

I’m very honoured to have been awarded a CB in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list.

I see this very much as a recognition of the amazing, talented and committed colleagues and teams I have worked with in my civil service career.  The opportunity of a career in public service is a privilege that I continue to enjoy every day.

Follow Defra on Twitter, and sign up for email alerts here.

Sharing and comments

Share this page

1 comment

  1. Comment by Nigel posted on

    Who are the other people who received an honour - surely they deserve a mention as well?
    Disappointed that only the "top" person gets mentioned!